It’s true that the fuzzy laws and regulations regarding the dispensing of alcohol in Utah can make a person feel a tad tipsy. But here’s some good news: You can BYOB (or BYOW) here. Customers may bring their own unopened wine into a restaurant that has a license to serve wine, but there are a few rules of etiquette and common sense to follow.
- First, don’t bring cheap wine to dinner at a restaurant. Corkage fees range from $5 to $20, depending on the restaurant; do you really want to pay a $20 corkage fee for a six-buck bottle of wine? Plus, the sommelier will sneer at your cheapo vino.
- Try to scout out the restaurant’s wine list first so you don’t bring a bottle of something already on the list. That’s gauche, and it just makes you look stingy.
- Do bring a hard-to-find, interesting bottle of wine—something that might grab the attention of a sommelier or manager.
- You can recork your bottle and take any leftover wine home with you, so don’t let your server discard the cork or screw-cap.
- And here’s a valuable tip: Do leave a splash or two for the sommelier, manager, or server to taste after their shift. They appreciate the gesture, and you might just find your corkage fee waived.
For a taste of Utah liquor laws, consult abc.utah.gov/laws/law_residents.